On this date in 1981 the World’s largest Jelly was made (9,246 gallons of watermelon-flavour) in Brisbane. 10 facts about jelly.
Before it was possible to buy gelatin in the shops, people made jelly by extracting it from the foot of a calf. This gelatin was used for savoury dishes, or was mixed with fruit juice and Sugar for a dessert.
Making jelly this way was very time consuming and therefore, being able to serve it was a status symbol because it showed you had a large kitchen staff. Jelly molds were a common kitchen item in large stately homes.
Hannah Glasse was the first person to publish a recipe for a dessert using jelly, in her 18th-century book The Art of Cookery. Her recipe called for gelatin from calf's feet, isinglass and hartshorn. She used violet juice to colour it Blue, Saffron to make Yellow, cochineal for Red and Spinach for Green. These were allowed to set in layers in small, narrow glasses and flavoured with sugar, Lemon juice and spices.
The constituency of jelly comes from hydrolysed collagen, a protein made up of three strands of polypeptide chains with a helical structure. Mixing it with Water and heating it changes the structure.
The texture of jelly can vary from almost liquid to a rubbery solid (think jelly babies). This is down to the ratio of gelatin to liquid. There is actually a measurement for the strength of jelly, called the bloom strength. It is defined by the force in grams required to press a 12.5 mm (0.49 in) diameter plunger 4 mm (0.16 in) into 112 g (4.0 oz) of a standard 6.67% w/v gelatin gel at 10 °C (50 °F).
Some fruits, including Pineapple, Figs, Papaya and Kiwi Fruit, inhibit the setting of jelly because they contain enzymes that break up gelatine.
Jelly goes by different names in different parts of the world. In the USA and Canada, it is often called 'Jell-O', Jell-O being a brand of gelatin which has become a generic name for the stuff. In Commonwealth Nations like the United Kingdom and New Zealand, almost all gelatin is called jelly.
There are plant based alternatives to gelatin so vegans can enjoy jelly desserts, too. These include Agar, a product made from red algae, and carrageenan, which is made from Seaweed.
The liquid used to make jelly isn’t always entirely water. It can be made using Vodka, Rum, Tequila, or neutral grain spirit. This is known as a jello shot, also known as the poison rainbow.
Tom Lehrer claims to have invented the gelatin shot in the 1950s as a way to circumvent a restriction of alcoholic beverages at the National Security Agency base where he worked. However, there is a recipe for an alcoholic gelatin drink which dates from 1862, in How to Mix Drinks, or The Bon Vivant's Companion by Jerry Thomas. His recipe for "Punch Jelly" calls for isinglass or other gelatin to be added to a punch made from Cognac, rum, and lemon juice.
No comments:
Post a Comment